Citizen's Corner

Health Pyramid of Gujarat

India embarked on its journey to health after independence with a nation-wide network of efficient and effective health services based on what would later be called as the primary health care approach. Services were organised in a bottom up fashion, with a strong rural focus to attend to the needs of the underserved majority.

The primary tier has three types of health care institutions namely, a Sub-Centre (SC) for a population of 3000 to 5000, a Primary Health Centre (PHC) for 20,000 to 30,000 population and a Community Health Centre (CHC) for every 1,00,000 population.

The district hospitals function as the secondary tier of care for the rural population. Tertiary health care is provided by highly specialised hospitals and health care institutions that are well equipped with sophisticated diagnostic and investigative facilities.

The health set-up in Gujarat is thus designed in a three-tier fashion : Health Pyramid of Gujarat (Public)

Health Services

The Gujarat health system is organized on the principle of a dynamic concentration of medical facilities round about the teaching hospitals having all the medical specialties and facilities for treating serious patients referred from lower tier hospitals and the radical downward flow of active services from the teaching hospitals to peripheral levels through mobile teams of specialists, are the essence of a well organised regionalisation. " (Study Group on Hospitals, S.N. Chatterjee, 1975).

Medical relief is provided to the rural and urban people through 56 District and Taluka General Hospitals, 4 Mental Hospitals, 3 Specialty Hospitals (2 Ophthalmic Hospitals and 1 Infectious Diseases) and 60 Dispensaries. A total of 6,648 beds are available in these hospitals.

Class 1 District Hospitals are equipped with Operation Theatre, Intensive and Cardiac Care Units, X-Ray, Ultrasound and Laboratory facilities, E.C.G. and Blood Transfusion services. Sub-district (Taluka) Hospitals have limited specialties like Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Paediatrics and Dentistry. Ambulance services are available round the - clock in both the categories of hospitals.

Services Provided At District Hospitals

Clinical Health Programmes
General Medicine RCH-II (Reproductive and Child Health)
General Surgery RNTCP (Tuberculosis Control Program)
Ear, Nose, Throat Malaria Control
Gynecology & obstetrics Blindness Control
Routine and high risk obstetric care Polio Eradication
Pediatrics and Neonatal services Immunization
Orthopedics National AIDS Control Programme
Ophthalmology Family Planning I FRU
Dermatology Thalassemia detection Programme
Dental Sciences District Mental Health Programme
Imaging Services Specialty services during School Health Programme
Physiotherapy Services District Disability Rehabilitation Center
Dialysis Services

Rural Health Structure

The Grass Root Level Health Facility


  • One Auxiliary Nurse Midwife.
  • One Male Health Worker.
  • One Lady Health Worker from the PHC - supervision of six Sub Centres.


Interpersonal and Behavior Change Communication related to ...

  • Maternal and Child Health
  • Nutrition
  • Diarrhoea Control
  • Family Welfare
  • Immunization
  • Control of Communicable Diseases Programme
The Primary Healthcare Facility


  • One Medical Officer
  • Fourteen paramedical and other staff


  • Out patients services
  • In door patients - 4 - 6 beds
  • Curative, preventive, promotional and Family Welfare Services
First Referral Unit with Specialized services


  • Four specialist doctors in the areas of Medicine, Surgery, Paediatrics and Gynaec- Obst.
  • Nursing and Para Medical staff.


  • Out patients services
  • In door patients; 30 beds
  • Operation Theatre
  • Labour Room
  • X-ray Machine
  • Pathological Laboratory
  • Standby Generator
Go to Navigation